Transformation..

tablescape for the living room coffee table.

I  love the thought of being able to transform things. I wish for a magic wand that I could wave.. and have things HAPPEN like Harry Potter.  sigh.  Reality isn’t like that though.  However even without magic, I can transform things.

Transform loosely defines as a form that has changed in some format.  So every time something changes from it’s original form, it’s transformed.  I love looking at piles of fabric and imagining what I can do with them. I love mixing colors and patterns whether it be for scrapbooking or sewing.  It’s just fun.  It speaks to me in a way that most other activities do not. And I create best in an environment that has piles of stuff, music going, and odds and ends scattered around.

Housework no matter how much I clean.. doesn’t speak to me.  I love rearranging and moving furniture and playing with table toppers, decorating for the holidays.  I  get a thrill when I make something and it turns out.  I feel accomplished. I created something.  Whether it’s silly or frivolous, it’s something that I have to do. I can’t just not ‘pretty’ up the house.  🙂

Finding new and wonderful things whether it’s antiques, new recipes, patterns for fun stuff, it’s a need for me.  And that is where Sean and I differ.  I could make a different recipe every night for a year, and be happy.  Sean would ideally love to have the same five meals over and over,  meatloaf, spaghetti, green chile burritos, lemon chicken, and steak. Throw in a couple dinners out to Youngs Vietnamese restaurant, (pepper steak or tropical island) maybe a burger or two, and he’s a happy guy.

So I try to compromise, two of his favorites, mixed in with three new dishes from the kitchen.  Each new dish is greeted with some raised eyebrows, and a ‘huh’ if it’s not the greatest, (but how are you going to know if you don’t try?)  and some are this is good… and some are greeted with, “can’t we just have spaghetti?”.

But I need my projects, my puttering.. it is the one way that I decompress from my job, the daily stresses of life,  the everyday ‘ness of life. You know the jobs that always have to be done, the trash gets put out every Tuesday, the mail needs picked up everyday, laundry done, and somehow, dinner always has to be cooked.  So my projects keep me sane, and focused on other things… like how to transform things.  🙂

So my current projects that I’ve been working on are here.  Two table toppers for fall, one pillow top to be completed, and a quilt to finish.  The pillow top and quilt have to be done by the end of November.  That’s my goal for myself.  We’ll see.  Let me know what you think!

Vintage postcard pillow top from Crabapple Farm

simple patchwork quilt - using Sweetwater life fabric line from Moda

3 responses to “Transformation..

  1. HI Melissa, I love your blog, you are such a talented writer of your thoughts, that is not a gift I passed down to you but wish I had. You must of got that from Dad. I love your table arrangement, your home always looks so nice for the holidays. Love you lots, mom

    • I’m glad that you like it… definitely a good way to decompress.:) As for all the creativity, I got a double dose, one from you and one from Dad.

  2. I think I got a lot from you too. 🙂 I’m pretty sure the need to do something creative came from you.

Leave a Reply

